“Her curly hair and hitchhiking heart”

Hello Trotters!!

A very Happy 2014, to all the lovely souls around. We have all entered yet another year in our lives, with new resolutions, hopes and determinations, am sure, we are all set..:)

Well, nothing has changed much when it comes to your Quikedtrotter, but a slight optimism towards posting more and more in this space of mine, is what am really looking forward to be doing this time around.

It was early this year, when I found myself lost admist daily hurdles, honking cars, howling dogs and people screaming all around. At times, this kind of reality, really gets on to you and a chaotic air of this sort, transfers you to an alternate space altogether. I wonder if that made any sense at all? Without deviating much from my point, I would like to share an interesting story with my readers today..:)

Her pair of sneakers are probably hitchhiking on Manipuri hills, as am sitting and writing about her today. I know an imagination of “Her” has already taken its shape, in your head. So let me introduce you all to Tulsi Sinam, a lost girl, captivating many with her charm of curly locks, dimpled smile, an effortless style and an innate love for nature. A Manipuri girl, whose childhood almost matched a fairytale, we all have probably dreamt of.

J56C9190

My background with Tulsi compromises of a college friendship, few fashion shows and an occasional exchange of smiles, which always left me with a pleasing feeling, as she was one girl, who I always admired from distance and only grew more fond of, as I got to know her better. The ones who have read my blog in the past, would definitely be aware of my fondness for Northeast and the enormous beauty exuded by those seven states.

Now, that made connecting with Tulsi, much easier for me and our little conversations about her visits back home would always delight me with the experiences she had to share. It was almost recently, when I decided that Tulsi and her bucket of thoughts filled with those experiences have to be shared through my blog. I was not surprised when I got an equally exciting response from her. The result of which is going to be a visual display of her life and a generic style of day to day living in Manipur.

Sitting and relaxing in her garden backyard, this is a typical evening and afternoon ritual in Tulsi's life in Manipur

Early morning near her Tulsi plant. Offering prayers to a Tulsi Plant is a part of daily routine in every Manipuri Household.
Early morning near her Tulsi plant. Offering prayers to a Tulsi Plant is a part of daily routine in every Manipuri Household.

with yankee2

J56C9167edit

In and around her Manipuri house, Tulsi spends a great deal of leisure time with her pet Yankee, the most important family member..:)
In and around her Manipuri house, Tulsi spends a great deal of leisure time with her pet Yankee, the most important family member..:)

Looks like a dream doesn’t it? Well this indeed is an exact portrayal of a peaceful life back in Manipur. But let me clearly mention, that a routine of this kind, also includes completing daily and basic chores which can be quite a challenge in those hills but is an absolute smooth affair for its inhabitants.

After this brief discussion of Tulsi’s life, I would now like to show you all some rare scenic sites, that this state is most importantly know for. This sequence of pictures is a 100% vision of Tulsi’s love for her native place and will be a treat to view for sure. So there you go:

J56C4730

J56C9654

loktak lake

random1

random3

random4

random5- view of Karang island in Loktak lake-clicked from Thanga Island.jpg

random8

When I began my blog last year, my aim was to discuss Quirk Points of every person I would cover and am back at that. But this time, am going to share a few pictures, which are quirky from my angle, as I will never have good enough words to describe these beautiful creations of nature.

1)Tulsi’s latest adventure at Andro Lake in Manipur. Beauty at its best[/caption]

G33A3268

G33A3297

Tulsi's latest adventure at Andro Lake in Manipur. Beauty at its  best

2) That’s how Manipuris do it. A well captured sight of a local lady sailing

3)Kang-Festival-Rath-yatra celebratedacross India
kang festival- rath yatra celebrated  across india

When it comes to a person like Tulsi and a place like Manipur, I will never have enough words to express my emotional inclinations towards the simple, steady and sorted in life. But well, this way through my blog, I can always make little attempts at what keeps me alive, going and inspiring.

Picture Credits: Tulsi Sinam,

https://www.facebook.com/KhwaiPhotography

Hope you all enjoyed this post!

Until next time
Remain Quirky, Remain Unique, Remain Happy!

2 thoughts on ““Her curly hair and hitchhiking heart”

Leave a Reply

